Sunday, July 13, 2008

Book Number in 2008: 32
Book From: Library
Date Started: 7/7/08
Date Finished: 7/13/08
My Rating: 5

Author: Beverly Lewis
Title: The Covenant
Series: 1st in Abram's Daughters
Genre: Amish
Format: Trade Size Paperback
Pages: 318

My Comments:
What a wonderful-gut story! I will for sure and for certain be reading the rest of this series soon. And probably continue on with her other series soon after that.

You totally get sucked into their world and don't want to put the book down! So simple, yet hard their lives really are.. So close the families stay... It's how families should always be. :)

Description from the publisher:
Book 1 of Abram's Daughters series from bestselling author Beverly Lewis. Years of secrecy bind the tiny community of Gobbler's Knob together more than the present inhabitants know, and the Plain folk who farm the land rarely interact with the fancy locals. So when Sadie is beguiled by a dark-haired English boy, it is Sadie's younger sister, Leah, who suffers from her sister's shameful loss of innocence. And what of Leah's sweetheart, Jonas Mast, sent to Ohio under the Bishop's command? Drawn into an incomprehensible pact with her older sister, Leah finds her dreams spinning out of control, even as she clings desperately to the promises of God. The Covenant begins a powerful Lancaster portrait of the power of family and the miracle of hope.

No comments:

Post a Comment